The European Forestry House Celebrates 10 Years of Existence

efh logo okA summer reception was held at the European Forestry House to mark its 10-year anniversary. A decade after a branch-cutting inauguration ceremony was held in the presence of Mariann Fischer Boel, European Commissioner for Agriculture and Rural Development, the initial pioneers Natalie Hufnagl

-Joy and Birt Schmetjen (both from CEPF) and Erik Kosenkranius (EUSTAFOR), returned to the European Forestry House to remind those present of the reasons that led to its founding: The need to establish a clear, consolidated voice in Brussels concerning forestry issues at EU level. The success of the European Forestry House was confirmed by Phil Hogan, the current European Commissioner for Agriculture and Rural Development, who spoke to the gathering through a video speech.

Over the past decade, the European Forestry House has opened its doors to a wide variety of events, providing a platform for continuous exchanges of relevant ideas, know-how and information on forest-related issues. The organizations of the house have successfully increased the profile and perception of the forest and forest-based sector and have turned the house into an acknowledged center of competence for an ever-increasing number of forestry issues.

The founding of the European Forestry House was based on a dream and a passionate determination to make the forest and forest-based sector more visible. By continuously seeking to connect with those who, in whatever way, are engaged with forestry, that dream has today become a reality.

 The European Forestry House was founded jointly by the Confederation of European Forest Owners (CEPF) and the European State Forest Association (EUSTAFOR). The building now houses 6 organizations and has 6 supporting organizations, all related to forests and the forest‑based sector. We look forward to the next 10 years!

Many thanks to the following organizations for supporting this anniversary celebration with the following food and drinks from the forest: Chocolate reindeer moss, forest cranberry and blueberry crisps (RMK, Estonia), Waldbier (ÖBf, Austria) and birch sap (Metsähallitus, Finland). The decorative saplings were provided by Sylva Boomkwekerijen, Belgium.

chevron-right chevron-left

Published 19/07/2017, Brussels

Ms. Veerle Cornand

Office Manager

Please upgrade your browser to the latest version for a better experience.